I’ve talked the talk – now time to walk the walk

A send off from the Mayor and Deputy Mayor of my commune.

A send off from the Mayor and Deputy Mayor of my commune.

So after almost six months of planning and preparation tomorrow is the big day. After a very hearty breakfast I aim to be on the road for 7am. My destination for Saturday is the small town of Licques and I’ll be hammock camping in the woods above the town. The following day I’m aiming to get to Calais to catch the boat to Dover sometime mid-afternoon.
The last few weeks I have been very kindly offered more accomodation on my route, mostly via the Couchsurfer website. And my efforts to involve the media have borne some fruit – I shall be the guest of Maria Felix Vas on her show on on BBC Radio Lancashire! This takes place from 11am to 1pm on June 20th, the day before the end of my walk. Anyone who wants to listen to the show can do so via the internet.
I have also received more sponsorship via my JustGiving website. The current total is just shy of £800 which means I’m 15% towards my target of £5000. Every single donation regardless of the amount, is very welcome.
So, the big question, is how do I feel? I feel ready. I feel excited. I feel a little nervous. But I’m going to do this. Wish me luck. I shall do my best to update this blog every day so you can follow my progress. Thanks for your support and thanks for reading.

2 thoughts on “I’ve talked the talk – now time to walk the walk

  1. Foxy loxy( as your mam calls me )

    those feet were made for walking ! Good luck mark- see you in Buckinghamshire. Joyce

    Like

    Reply

Please feel free to leave a comment

